Presidents Prize

Presidents Prize

To apply for the President's Prize you must be

  • a BSAS member
  • presenting your first or second paper at the Annual Conference.


  • The prize is to encourage new scientists to improve their public communication skills.


  • candidates will be judged, by representatives of BSAS Trustees firstly, on the quality of their summary and, if successful in becoming one of the five finalists a presentation of their work at the BSAS Annual Conference

Judging Criteria

  • Quality of delivery/presentation
  • Ability to respond to Q&A
  • Content - including - identification of key issues and research questions; provision of supporting evidence for arguments; explanation of source material; consideration of potential issues


  • are made via the Oxford Abstracts submissions system
  • please tick the appropriate box, when submitting your summary, to be included for the President's Prize


  • a prize of £200 is award to the winner.

Application Deadline

Final entry date falls in line with the closing date of BSAS 2023 Conference abstract deadline, see BSAS Conference website for further details

Past Recipients


President's Prize Winner

Abdul Aziz Yunus | Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology | Effects of concentrate supplement on feed intake, growth performance and blood parameters of N’dama calves fed cultivated Napier grass basal diet

President's Prize Finalists

Sabrina Ormston | University of Reading | Productivity, efficiency and milk fatty acid profile of Jersey crossbred cows in low-input dairy systems

Yixin Huang | University of Glasgow | Accurate parameter estimation in calves using non-linear growth models

Aisling Carroll | Hartpury University | The influence of birth weight on dairy holstein heifer calf health and growth prior to weaning

Thomas Keogh | Charles Sturt University | The effects of feed intake at two stages of maturity on the composition of retained energy in cross-bred lambs 

Ali Hardan | University of Nottingham | Variability in enteric methane eructation peaks among dairy cows 


President's Prize Winner

Nick Britten,Cambridge Vet School

‘Temperament, health, and fertility outcomes in dairy cattle’.


Best Theatre Presentation
Tegan Sutton, University of Leeds

Highly Commended Theatre
Tomas Tubritt, Teagasc


Best Theatre Presentation
Annie Williams, Harper Adams University

Best Digital Presentation
Brigkita Venardou, University College Dublin

Best Poster Presentation
Christopher Douglas Moore, University of Nottingham


Best Theatre
Harriet Bunning, SRUC

Highly Commended Theatre
Achilleas Christie, Rothamsted Research Institute
Lauren Geddes, SRUC
Rhys Jones, IBERS Aberystwyth University
Maithe Monteiro de Barros, IBERS Aberystwyth University
Partha Ray, University of Reading

Highly Commended Poster
Sophie Hazelden, Nottingham Trent University


Best Theatre
Alex Brown, SRUC

Highly Commended Theatre
Clare Gaukroger, Anpario plc
Claire Morgan-Davis, SRUC
Anna Thomson, University of Reading


Best Theatre
Sandra Starke, University of Birmingham

Highly Commended Theatre
Alana Boulton, The Royal Veterinary College
Alex Brown, SRUC
Ruth Clamp, IBERS, Aberystwyth University
Jolinda Pollock, SRUC


Best Theatre
Poh Ying Lim, Nottingham University

Highly Commended Theatre
Edward Crowley, IBERS, Aberystwyth University
Lorna Dawson, Newcastle University
Sokratis Ptochos, SRUC

Highly Commended Short Theatre
Bala Shehu, Ahmadu Bello University Nigeria


Best Theatre
Amy Miele, University of Edinburgh

Best Short Theatre
Amanda Ward, Writtle College

Highly Commended Theatre
Vasilis Symedou, Newcastle University

Highly Commended Highlights
Laura Exley, Writtle College
Sarah Morgan, Aberystwyth University


Best Theatre
Marcin Pszczola, Wageningen UR Livestock Research

Best Highlight Presentation
Muhammad Jaspal, University of Bristol

Highly Commended Theatre
Ollie Szyszka, Newcastle University
Faye Shepherd, Duchy College


Best Theatre
Naomi Fox, Scottish Agricultural College

Highly Commended Theatre
Anne Le Moine, University of Leeds
Ollie Szyszka, University of Newcastle


Best Theatre
Eileen McCloskey, Queens University Belfast

Highly Commended Theatre
Laura J Corbin, Roslin Institute and Royal Dick Vet

Best Short Theatre
Laura J Pocock, Royal Agricultural College

Best Highlights
Andrew M Clempson, Royal Veterinary College


Best Short Theatre
Amy Taylor, University of Leeds

Highly Commended Theatre
Elly Navajas, Scottish Agricultural College
Lucy Brunton, University of Leeds

Best Poster
Hanan Al-Khalifa, University of Reading


Best Theature
Kathryn Kemper, Roslin Institute

Highly Commended Theatre
Nicola Blackie, Writtle College
Georgia Hadjipavlou, Roslin Inst and R(D)SVS, Uni of Edinburgh
Mohammad Mehedi Hasan Khan, Newcastle University


Best Theatre
Lorna Baird, Agri-food and Biosciences Institute

Highly Commended Theatre
Stuart Williamson, University of Liverpool

Best Poster
Angela J Wright, Royal Veterinary College

Highly Commended Poster
Sam Mason, University of Leeds
Jessica Brickell, Royal Veterinary College


Best Theatre
Camila Munoz, AFBI and Queen’s University, Belfast

Highly Commended Theatre
Mark Fenwick, Royal Veterinary College
Catherine Hayhurst, University of Liverpool

Best Poster
Joanne Mallinson, University of Nottingham


Best Theatre
Suzanne Rowe, Roslin Institute

Highly Commended Theatre
Ruth Pickard, University of Newcastle upon Tyne

Best Poster
Lenice Bell, Myerscough Agricultural College


Best Theatre
Troy M Fischer, University of New England, Australia

Best Poster
Jennifer Macfarlane, Scottish Agricultural College


Best Theatre
Angela J Fahey, University of Nottingham

Best Poster
Ian J Wellock


Best Theatre
Emma C Whittemore, Scottish Agricultural College

Commended Theatre
Andrew Crawford, Agricultural Research Institute of Northern Ireland
Marie Jackson, Harper Adams University College
Beverly Mahlhausler, Adelaide University, Australia

Best Poster
Honathan Mills, University of Reading

Commended Poster
Jonathan Amory, Harper Adams University College
Sarah Cooper, Harper Adams University College
Maria Campo, University of Bristol
Homayoun Farhangfar, University of Newcastle
Ruba Mohamed, University of Newcastle
Richard Wynn, University of Nottingham


Best Theatre
Catherine Bertenshaw, University of Newcastle

Best Poster
Adam Lock, University of Nottingham

Caroline Docking, ADAS, Terrington