Sir Kenneth Blaxter Award

Sir Kenneth Blaxter Award


The Sir Kenneth Blaxter award is an annual scholarship aimed at providing opportunities to enhance skills and experiences. The Award is open to those in the early stages of their career from all branches of animal science. Any reasonable proposal within the scope of the scheme will be considered.


Who was Kenneth Blaxter?

Sir Kenneth Blaxter was a key researcher in the fields of animal and human nutrition and animal husbandry. He studied at Reading, where he wrote his PhD thesis, 'The maintenance of the winter milk supply in wartime'. As head of the nutrition department at the Hannah Dairy Research Institute in Ayr, Scotland, he wrote over 200 papers focusing on energy metabolism and feed usage by ruminants. He also looked at nutritional diseases and magnesium deficiency in calves, the effect of temperature and other environmental effects on sheep, and ruminant digestion and feed intake. Sir Kenneth finished his career as director of the Rowett Research Institute in Aberdeen, where his research studies expanded to include deer farming, llamas, human nutrition, feed evaluation, environmental stress and animal calorimetry.



A project, study tour or meeting attendance. The award may be used for travel to conferences but in this case the awards panel will seek evidence of added value such as giving a presentation or poster and particularity where funding is used to visit establishments or engage with other scientists.


Review of competition entries

Applications to the Kenneth Blaxter Award will be assessed based on the application form. In making its decision, the selection panel will consider the relevance of the applicants work and the extent to which they will benefit from receiving the award and that the application fits with the scope of the Award to enhance skills and experience.


Reporting requirements

The project/study tour/meeting attendance must be completed within 12 months of the closing date of the Award. Successful candidates will be asked to prepare a report of their award, which will be published, on the BSAS website. Following completion of the scholarship, recipients of the award are expected to (i) attend and present the outputs from the award at the BSAS annual conference student day (funding may be available for this) and (ii) submit a short report / poster which will be uploaded to the society’s website.



If you have any queries, please contact


What is the prize?

Worth up to £1500, based on the quality and type of application, the scholarship can be used for travel in the UK or overseas, or for a specified overseas study tour.


How do I apply?

Open to applicants from all branches of animal science who are in the early years of their career. Applications will only be accepted from BSAS members who have been a member of the society for a minimum of 6 months. Please complete the on-line application form and return by the application deadline.


Application deadline

30th April 2021

Apply Now

Please answer all questions

Click here to find out more about BSAS Membership

Click here to find out more about BSAS Accreditation

Application Background (please complete in line with Award criteria

Please provide name and address of an academic referee supporting this application (please ensure that they have sgreed to support the application)


Please succinctly, state your main objectives (250 words max)

Lay Summary and Impact

Please provide a lay summary of your current research/study focus. Briefly describe how your work meets the scope of this award focusing on the originality/novelty of the scientific advances or development in knowledge. You must include benefits that would accrue from this proposal covering the (i) development of the scientific area and (ii) benefit to the animal science industry and or animal welfare (500 words max)

Technical Summary

Please provide a summary of the work that you plan to undertake as part of this award. . If the application is to support presenting at a conference, include any submitted abstract (as an appendix) and date when you are likely to hear of the outcome (500 words max)

Benefits of the Award

Briefly provide an overview and background of yourself as an animal scientist. What are your strength, challenges and future goals or aspiration? Describe how this award will support your current work and provide opportunities for your professional development or progression (500 words max)

Expenditure Breakdown

(including dates, location(s), travel and accommodation)

Past Recipients


 Georgios Pexas, University of Newcastle


Daniels, Royal Agricultural University
Anna Lavery, ABINI
Jolinda Pollock, SRUC​
Paul Rose, University of Exeter


Funded early career scientists to attend EAAP 2016


Angel Abuelo Sebio, College of Veterinary Science, USC, Lugo Spain
Poppy Frater, EBLEX
Eleri Price, Aberystwyth University


Alice Barrier, SAC, UK
Laura Corbin, Roslin Insitute, UK


Helio Lima Neto,University of Newcastle, UK
Jenny Gibbons, SAC, UK
Catherine Hale, Hartpury College, UK


Samantha Ward, Moulton College, UK
Mohammad M H Khan, Newcastle University, UK
Yolande Seddon, Newcastle University, UK
Marleen Werkman, University of Stirling, UK


Mirinlini, University of Wales, UK
Soumela Savvidou, University of Plymouth, UK


Emma M Baxter, Scottish Agricultural College, UK
Fiona Laing, Scottish Agricultural College, UK
Catherine Hayhurst, University of Liverpool, UK


Lorraine Salmon, University of Newcastle, UK
Michael R F Lee, IGER, UK
Noelia Aldai, SERIDA Institute, Spain


Dario Colombatto, Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina
Sylwia J Adamiak, Scottish Agricultural College, UK


Penelope A R Hawken, Newcastle University, UK


Maria del Mar Campo Arribas, University of Bristol, UK
Vlasta Demechova, University of Plymouth, UK


Jos Houdijk, Scottish Agricultural College, UK


Caroline Rymer, ADAS, UK


Helen Christie, ARINI, UK
Spiridoula Athanasiadou, Scottish Agricultural College, UK
Michael Hutchings, Scottish Agricultural College, UK
George Arsenos, Scottish Agricultural College, UK