Young scientists scoop top awards at BSAS conference


A host of young scientists from across the country have scooped top BSAS awards for their excellent presentations at the society’s annual conferences.

Charlotte BoltonPig researcher Hazel Rooney of Teagasc was awarded the BSAS Industry Association Award for her presentation, ‘Effect of sugar beet pulp and L-carnitine supplementation in gilt gestation diets on gilt weight and lactation feed intake and progeny growth’.
The judges said there were some excellent presentations in the category, which prompted serious discussions over who should be deemed the eventual winner.

“However, the winning abstract demonstrated an application to industry that could be applied today and have a positive impact on pig production parameters,” they said.

“Although there were limitations with her study, Hazel demonstrated understanding of these and was able to respond to questions well.”

Meanwhile Charlotte Bolton of Harper Adams University (pictured, above) was awarded the BSAS Academia Association prize, which recognised the best presentation at the 2018 annual meeting.

Charlotte’s presentation, on the effects adding flavouring to drinking water has on Holstein-Friesian calves, beat off stiff competition from five other finalists from universities around the UK and Ireland.

During the conference, the society’s 2017 President’s Prize - which recognises the best theatre presentation amongst members presenting their first or second paper at last year’s annual conference - was also awarded to Harriet Bunning.

Harriet, of SRUC and RDSVS, won the award for her presentation titled “A meta-analysis of heterosis for production and fitness traits in tropical cattle”, and was presented her prize alongside 2017 finalists Partha Ray, from the University of Reading, Rothamsted's Achilleas Christou, and Sophie Hazelden from Nottingham Trent University (pictured, below).

Full list of winners and finalists:

Academia Association Prize winner:

·         Charlotte Bolton – Harper Adams University

Industry Association Prize:

·         Hazel Rooney – Teagasc (winner)

·         Ahran lee – University of Reading (Finalist)

·         Sarah Duffy – University College Dublin (Finalist)

·         Alexandra Tonks - University of Reading (Finalist)

·         Alessia Diana – Teagasc (Finalist)

·         Cornelia Grace – University College Dublin (Finalist)

2017 President’s Prize:

·         Harriet Bunning – SRUC and RDSVS University of Edinburgh (winner)

·         Partha Ray – University of Reading

·         Achilleas Christou – Rothamsted Research

·         Maithê Rocha Monteiro de Barros – IBERS, Aberystwyth University

·         Sophie Hazelden – Nottingham Trent University